A Coldspotters Coldcon Weekend in Westminster, BC – By June Nixon

IMGP7373 IMGP7377 IMGP7383 IMGP7404 IMGP7407 IMGP7412 IMGP7413_crop IMGP7419_crop

Medea and I were asked to do a presentation at Coldcon about Women in the Paranormal. Even though we are women and love investigating all things Paranormal, we came to find out that this was NOT our favorite subject. Yes, there are women in the paranormal field now that aren’t ALL psychic and Yes, women are starting to outnumber men in the field and NO I do not scream and run everytime I hear a noise in a creepy old house. Actually I’m the kind of person that it takes a lot to scare me (in the paranormal that is, I’m afraid of the living more than the dead), I try to be very calming and soothing…ANYWAY, I am getting off the subject. I want to talk about our weekend in Canada with the Coldspotters.

We had a really nice drive there, no rain, sunny skies and an only 20 minute wait at the border. The thing I didn’t realize is my GPS didn’t recognize Canada as a Country, I didn’t BUY that for it. Grrr. AND my phone wouldn’t work across the border. So we were very happy that the person we were staying with gave us amazing, simple directions on how to get there. So, that night Kerri took us to where we were meeting some of the wonderful Coldspotter team. They wanted to take us to a very creepy abandoned cemetery once owned by the BC Prison, it took us a bit of time to get there, walking through very LIVE blackberry bushes and trying to climb up on big rocks. If you don’t know me, I’m not much of an outdoor person, but everyone helped hold down the blackberry bushes and pull me up on the rocks. They were so amazing and kind. But it was worth it, the cemetery was not very big and there were just a few markers with numbers on them. To be buried without a name… It was very dark by that time and thank goodness we found an easier way out. But it was very cool.

We then went to the very haunted Spaghetti Factory, of course it was so crowded that if there were ghosts I did not see them. Such a good dinner and great conversation with wonderful people.

After that we went to the infamous Riverview Asylum and walked around, we couldn’t go in the buildings but it was awesome just walking around them.

After that we went back to the home where we were staying at and did an investigation. Medea and I slept in the Most Haunted Room and had some interesting experiences.

The next day was Sunday, we had lunch at The Castle (it used to be apart of the old prison) very cool place and laid back wait staff and cook, but delicious food. We rested a bit then drove to the Old Columbia Theater in Westminster. Really cool old place. Coldcon was great, we met a lot of wonderful vendors, people that we are friends with on FaceBook and got to hear some great speakers.

Our presentation went okay, Medea was amazing as usual. It was SOOOOOOOO much fun. Also had some interesting incidents with one of the Haunted Dolls there. We saw her fly backwards OFF the table, it looked like someone pulled or pushed her. The lights would dim and then come back on, a few things fell down, it was just strange, not saying they were ALL paranormal, but very interesting.

All in all it was a wonderful weekend and we had the best time, especially with the gift baskets they gave us with wine, batteries, earphones, chocolates, cute ghost hunting necklace, etc. We can’t wait to do this again next year, IF they want us back that is. We love our new Canadian friends!

Tacoma’s Haunted History – By Ross Allison and Teresa Nordheim

10498634_628274017294236_6595020062037681549_o

Have you bought your copy of Tacoma’s Haunted History yet? Such a nice book with great pictures and stories of a lot of sites you probably didn’t even really notice. It’s amazing how many places in Tacoma could be Haunted…

Tacoma hides in the shadows of Seattle, but what hides in the shadows of Tacoma? The city’s paranormal history is riddled with Native American culture, spiritualists, mysterious deaths, tragedy, and curses that dwell in the dark. Much of Tacoma is built directly on top of sacred lands, and many natives to the area can attest that the city is haunted by its past. Desecration of graves can leave troubling results. Hexed citizens can perish. An untimely death can leave behind a soul. These unfortunate circumstances bring forth tales of the strange and unexplainable. Are we alone in Tacoma or accompanied by ghosts of the past?

My Journey to the Advanced Ghost Hunters of Seattle Tacoma – By June Nixon

0ff97de8_o - June AGHOST - 2

I started off my journey as a paranormal investigator right after my divorce from my ex husband. I was watching a Ghost Hunting show at the time and thought, this is all a bunch of CRAP, I want to do this and debunk everything. I’ll show people there are NO such things as ghosts!  So I started taking classes on the paranormal and ghost hunting. Neil McNeill out here in Seattle offers some amazing classes, also if you want to get in touch with your psychic side (which by the way, I’m as psychic as a rock) William Becker offers some amazing classes too. So after taking all these classes, I really wanted to find my own group, my own niche, people I can call family.  I went on a few interviews for groups, a couple I knew weren’t for me but one in particular was pretty horrible.  I was kind of dressed up at the time and they were asking me really stupid questions, like, IF you saw a ghost would you run away? IF you got touched would you scream? IF you saw a shadow person, would you be scared? – I kid you not, those were the questions. THEN the extremely rude leader of the group at the time, slammed his hand down on the table and said – YOU DO Realize, don’t you, that if you break a nail on an investigation, we can’t stop it until you get it fixed. – Yes, that jerk said that to me.  All I said was, HEY just because I don’t look like a MAN, does not mean I’m not a good investigator.  I realized the other “women” at the table were very tough looking. NOPE, this was not the group for me. Sheeez.

So finally I found a nice group called King County Paranormal Investigations (KCPI) which kind of faded a bit, so then after a few more visits to groups I found Northwest Paranormal Research Group run by Tod Kertz.  Tod was the sweetest guy and had the biggest heart of anyone I knew. He could make me so mad but then make me laugh within a few seconds. He would invite WAY TOO MANY people on an investigation and we could not get good evidence because of that. He was one of my best friends.  We started our own Radio show and had some amazing guests like Christopher St. Booth, Johnny Hauser, Mark and Debbie Constantino, Ross Allison, etc.  Tod introduced me to MANY incredible people that now I consider to be my best friends. He also introduced me to Ross Allison, President of AGHOST. I begged Ross to talk to Tod about all the people he was inviting. Ross even invited Tod and I and Ed on a small investigation at the Comedy Underground one night just to show him that it was much better to have a small group.  Ross then opened Spooked in Seattle Ghost Tours down at 102 Cherry Street.  I started helping a bit with that and loved being with the owners Mark Simpson and Ross.  Sadly, Tod passed away shortly after. The hole in my life was pretty deep, he was a wonderful person and a great friend. I couldn’t bare the thought of being in the group without Tod, so that is when I moved to AGHOST. I feel like I’m finally home.

So as to my quest to debunk everything, I have not been able to do that for a few things and have left more questions unanswered. Things like, seeing a dark shadow that didn’t belong to any person, getting EVPS of people that weren’t in our group, feeling touches and pokes and nothing is there, feeling ice cold spots in the middle of a hot summer…a lot of things like that. Even if I go to 20 investigations and have nothing at all, it only takes one little EVP or something to make me love this anymore. A.G.H.O.S.T. is a completely different group from what it used to be. We have a drama free group, anyone causing disruptions is asked to leave, which we have not so far.  Everyone works together and we are building an amazing TEAM!! It’s open membership so we also plan a lot of fun things too.  We are planning our trip back to the OLD Montana Prison and Museum next year to spend the night in the prison. So a lot of things are in the works. So that is my journey so far and it’s getting even better ALL the time.

Even Ghost Gurlz Get the Blues – By Medea Aguiar

558427_10151230679678144_614900612_n

I watched a doll fly backwards off of a table the other night. In a room full of people, and there were at least 2 other people that directly witnessed the event. My reaction? I really didn’t have much of one. My investigator instincts kicked in and I immediately replayed the event, troubleshooting every detail. My arms are on the same table that she just flew off the end of, I did not feel a bump or blow to the table. I cannot wiggle the table, she did not fall over backwards, or she would have still been laying on the table. She flew backwards with a good deal of speed of her own accord. I was looking at her when it happened, and no one else touched her. I was not excited, I was not afraid, I just wanted to know why.
I have witnessed and experienced some awesome things, and captured some excellent evidence in my years of doing this. But every time I, in my human arrogance, think that I have finally figured out some piece of the puzzle, something else will happen that confirms the actual truth, I still know nothing. I know nothing beyond my methods for deducing where I need to be and how long I need to remain there to see something. Sometimes I feel like I am simply an accomplished witness, an investigative journalist. Observe, document, and report, trying to leave any uniformed bias or opinion at the door.
Of course, there is more to it. But I must constantly fuel the momentum and remind myself to not become jaded or cynical in the face of what has now become routine. 10 years ago, I would have been over the moon to see an object move on its own, or hear a disembodied voice. After all these years, the cheap thrill of an adrenaline surge is harder to come by. I cannot become complacent simply because I haven’t seen anything new in a while.
I really think investigating is like a marriage, if you don’t remind yourself of the simple pleasures and constantly work at it, it can become stale. So, I now I am working on some new things, taking inspiration from both new technology and very old methods to see what I can do to become a better witness. I may not ever find a satisfying answer to the phenomenon that I feel compelled to seek out, but the quest is an integral part of who I am… I love the search, I love the glimpses of what is possible, and I love my paranormal family, which is ever expanding.
Stay tuned for my next blog… How the Ghost Gurl got her groove back.

My First Investigation at the Walker Ames House – By Scarlett Wicker

1896933_1388434811432071_686715278_n

Walker Ames house in Port Gamble:

039
       This was my first “official” over night investigation and I knew nothing about the house or the town before my arrival.  I had a few personal experiences from this house. The first being in the attic, I had been sitting on the bench in the attic and very suddenly the whole left side of my face and arm started to tingle and getting extremely hot… It was a very odd sensation which lingered for about 4 minutes and then it just went away . I believe I was up there with two other investigators at the time and no one else seemedto feel “weird” or particularly hot. After I got up from the bench and I didn’t feel anything like that for the rest of the evening.
       My second experience I believe was somewhere along the 2 or 3 a.m hours on the middle floor in the room across the hall from the yellow room I was with my fiance Casey when I heard with my own ears what sounded like a woman sobbing. I had asked if he had heard that and he said he did not. But we did manage to capture it on EVP which seemed like it was further away but in the moment it felt like it was right next to me.
      My last experience was probably around 4 AM in the attic… Originally Casey and I were just going to go up there to grab some equipment but of course I thought that it would be necessary to do a quick EVP session.  We were walking up to the attic and once we got up there something spooked Casey so much that he just wanted to get out of there as fast as possible. There’s actually a pretty embarrassing picture (for Casey) that shows the fear on his face at that moment, the true meaning of the saying a picture is worth a thousand words. Casey was already by the stairs so I  walked over to grab the full spectrum camera and while i was doing that I felt as if something brushed against my face ( it was probably just a breeze or who knows but it definitely heightened the situation  as the panic insued  ) after we shared with the group our experience and the look of terror on Casey’s face Leslie, Casey and I went back up there for further investigation…. During that time all three of us were witnessing a glowing light anomaly of sorts that was forming on the chimney. It is really hard to explain but the way that I can think of its formation or movement is it almost moved like a lava lamp.  We did everything we could to the debunk this… making sure there was no light sources that were coming in from anywhere else in the Attic. We stood in front of it, blocked at all angles with our clipboards, covered the light bulb that was hanging down from the ceiling. It was pitch black up there and absolutely no light coming in. This being my first investigation I know I should have had a camera on me or something to record it. I think we were all pretty dumbfounded and in a trans like state racking our brains as to what we were looking at. All in all it was a wonderful investigation I definitely want to go back to the Walker Ames i loved the town and the people in it! 

If You Show Me Your Orbs, I’ll Show You Mine…

ghost_ship_color-9934

Orbs. The Paranormal investigator’s dread with the general public. Now I’m not saying there are no orbs, I’ve actually seen tiny orbs with my own eyes. Ross Allison has seen an orb in an old graveyard with his own eyes. But I’m talking pictures. 9 out of 10 pictures with orbs (actually I will say 9.8 out of 10) are usually dust, lint, bugs, any kind of small thing that reflects against the flash of your camera. I wish they were a ball of energy of our dearly departed but it’s probably part of the dust you are kicking up as you walk. Of course be very gentle if you are in a clients home, DON’T tell her the pictures have a LOT of dust in them because her home is really dusty, I don’t think she or he would appreciate that so much. lol. 

Now saying this, I am very kind when I say, I think that is just dust in your picture. There are times I won’t say what it is, like the woman that came up to me and showed me a picture of herself and her little boy and an orb by her shoulder, she told me her mom just passed away a week before and she thinks that is her mom. All I said in that case is, Oh that’s so nice for you, you know she is always close by you.  What kind of person would I be telling her my opinion that it’s only a some drier lint floating around and not your dear mom. Ugh.  Anyway, if that is not the case when you show me your orb picture and I say, do you want me to be honest? If you say yes, you had better prepare yourself and not go ballistic and get all defensive.  If you don’t want to hear my honest opinion, please don’t ask me then, I’m sure you will be able to find another group out there that will agree with you.